Buckinghamshire Council Chairman plants tree for Queen’s Jubilee

Buckinghamshire Council’s Chairman has taken part in a national ceremonial tree planting event today to mark Her Majesty The Queen’s Platinum Jubilee.

Councillor Zahir Mohammed planted the Cherry Tree next to the River Wye in Wycombe today (Friday 11 March) on the same day as other civic leaders from across the UK, who’ve all planted trees in their own local areas as part of this special Jubilee event. Today is the 70th day of the year, hence the choice of date.

The event was organised locally as part of the UK-wide initiative by the National Association of Civic Officers (NACO), linking to the Queen’s Green Canopy, which is a unique national tree planting initiative created to mark the Platinum Jubilee.

The Chairman was joined by local councillors Mahboob Hussain, Arman Alam, Lesley Clarke and the Mayor of High Wycombe, Cllr Andrea Baughan. Other events with civic leaders took place elsewhere in Buckinghamshire as part of the same event.

Zahir Mohammed said: “It was an honour to plant this tree today, on the 70th day of the year, to mark the 70th anniversary of Her Majesty The Queen’s reign. Our event was just one of hundreds up and down the country that have taken place today and we are proud to have been a part of this special national moment. It’s very meaningful that the number of trees we are planting across Buckinghamshire, as part of this wonderful national project, will have a direct and positive impact on future generations”

The event is one of a series of Queen’s Green Canopy tree-planting events in Buckinghamshire taking place over the current fortnight. Last Sunday (6 March) Queen’s Green Canopy trees were planted at the Chilterns Crematorium in Amersham and this Sunday (13 March) a large community planting is taking place at Bierton Crematorium in Aylesbury. This is another special day where members of the Girl Guides will be planting trees from 11am and a special Jubilee Oak will be planted at around 1pm; attendees will be joined by local councillors and Leader of the Council, Cllr Martin Tett.