By-election result for Aylesbury North West

Aylesbury North West has a new Buckinghamshire County Councillor. Anders Christensen, Liberal Democrat, won the divisional seat at yesterday’s (Thursday 29 November) by-election with a majority of 147.

The seat became vacant following the resignation of sitting Member Martin Farrow, who was first elected to the County Council in May 2017.

Anders Christensen stood against three other candidates: Liz Hind (Labour), Ashley Waite (Conservative) and Mark Wheeler (Green).

The poll result was as follows:

Anders Carl Christensen, Liberal Democrat: 654 votes (39.3% of vote)
Ashley Waite, Conservative: 507 votes (30.5% of vote)
Liz Hind, Labour: 426 votes (25.6% of vote)
Mark Wheeler, Green: 77 votes (4.6% of vote)
Turnout: 17.9%

Full details on the by-election result are at:

Anders Christensen has lived in Aylesbury for over 25 years and works as a Project Manager in the insurance industry. He became active in local politics initially via his parish council and has gone on to also serve as an Aylesbury Vale district councillor.

Returning Officer Sarah Ashmead said: “Everybody uses the County Council’s services in some way each day, so I’m pleased people in the Aylesbury North West division have exercised their democratic right to elect the councillor they want to represent them and to help make important decisions about millions of pounds of public services provided across Buckinghamshire.”

The County Council’s 49 seats are made up of 41 Conservatives, 4 Liberal Democrat, one East Wycombe Independents, one Labour and one Independent. There is one vacancy in the Totteridge and Bowerdean division.