Aylesbury Waterside Theatre’s Norman Bragg Studio Future Events

Aylesbury Waterside Theatre’s Norman Bragg Studio continues to broaden its programme of events, offering evenings with a difference, and something to suit everyone. Whether you want party nights, sing-a-longs, live music, family fun or to support local bands, the studio champions diverse fringe theatre and fresh new talent alongside unique community events, screenings and more.

Returning following a sold-out show is Hundred Watt Club’s An Evening of Burlesque and Vaudeville (Sat 16 Sep) with a no-holds-barred journey into the world of showgirls and spectacle, and starting the season in fine style is Bucks Radio with their Back to School Disco (Sat 9 Sep).

Vocal warmups at the ready on Tue 19 Sep when pianist Michael Webborn invites you to sing your favourite musical theatre and Disney numbers at Musical Theatre Karaoke (Tue 19 Sep), and for those with more of a penchant for dance, do not miss the Waterside Ceilidh with Ceilidh Tree (Fri 29 Sep) – complete with a caller who will talk you through each step. All are welcome with no previous experience necessary.

Live music is fast becoming a weekly occurrence in the Bragg. Five of the finest singer-songwriters of their generation bring their unique and magical blend of captivating complex harmonies in Daphne’s Flight (Thu 14 Sep) ahead of The Searchers and Hollies Experience (Sat 7 Oct), playing back-to-back hits from the legendary two bands including Sweets for my Sweets and When You Walk in the Room. Not only this, but fresh from supporting Midge Ure earlier this year, India Elecrtic Co. arrive Thu 26 Oct, combining their traditional instruments, pop melodies and subtle electronics. The studio also continues to play home to two local live music events – Platform (supporting artists aged 11 – 18, Fri 22 Sep in partnership with XYZ Music Academy) and Unsigned (Sat 23 Sep, sponsored by Orange Amps), bringing together the best of Bucks’ music scene with Purple GraceSkarlet EnvyOmen-1 and Kiera Gabrielle on the September line-up.

Chuckles come courtesy of Alfie Moore – A Face For Radio (Wed 25 Oct) who, in his 40s, found a surprising career shift turned him from street cop to BBC radio star, and improv is back with Extreme Improv Comedy Show (Sat 30 Sep) making up scenes, songs and stories based entirely on your suggestions.

 

Family shows swooping into the space this season include acclaimed children’s book Wow! Said the Owl (Sat 21 Oct) with beautiful puppetry and music, and Teach Rex Live (Sat 28 Oct), an interactive show teaching about the anatomy of one of the most mesmerising creatures to have ever roamed the planet. For students studying Romeo and JulietDicken’s Theatre Company presents the classic text as part of their Revision on Tour series from Wed 11 – Sat 15 Oct.

 

The studio’s programme of screenings includes Matthew Bourne’s Swan Lake (Thu 28 Sep) A Little Life (Tue 3 & Wed 4 Oct) and the next dementia-friendly screening: Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (Thu 28 Sep).

 

Try something different – all events in the Norman Bragg Studio are on sale now: www.atgtickets.com/aylesbury *

 

*Fees apply