Local MP presents Bucks UTC’s first awards evening

Aylesbury MP David Lidington joined other local dignitaries and partners last week to present Bucks UTC’s first awards evening. Staff and students were recognised for their outstanding contribution to a successful first year at the new school, and over 19 employer sponsored prizes were given out. David visited the school before it opened last September and the UTC were delighted that he agreed to attend their first awards ceremony.

Of particular note was the presentation of the ‘Mayor’s Award for Student of the Year’, the Cllr Steve Patrick Memorial Cup. This went to year 10 student Joe Bryant, age 15, who is studying IT. Bev Flanagan, Principal of Bucks UTC commented: “Joe is currently showing an outstanding four levels of progress during his first year with us, which means he is predicted A*-A grades across the board and a Distinction in IT. He is an outstanding student and demonstrates a consistent approach to everything he does at the UTC”.

Other guests included the Mayor of Aylesbury, Cllr Tuffail Hussain; Cllr Mike Smith, Leader of the Council; Keith Gray, Town Clerk; and representatives from Taylor Wimpey, Esri UK, McAfee, Cisco, BAM Nuttall, Advanced Computer Software, Owlsworth, Buckinghamshire Architectural Society, Aylesbury College, Bucks New University and Bucks UTC Governors