Record number of Buckinghamshire voluntary groups receive royal award

Ten voluntary organisations from across Buckinghamshire have been honoured with the Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service (QAVS), the highest accolade a voluntary group in the UK can achieve. This year marks the highest number of winners in the county since the awards were first introduced in 2002.

This year’s winners are:

  • Buckinghamshire MIND
  • Bux and Oxon 4×4 Response Group
  • Chalfont St Giles Youth Club
  • Chiltern Child Contact Centre, Amersham
  • Milton Keynes Museum Volunteers
  • Old Bath House & Community Centre, Wolverton
  • The Princes Centre, Princes Risborough
  • The Stablemates, Wavendon
  • Stoke Poges, Wexham & Fulmer Horticultural Society
  • Wycombe & District Neighbourhood Watch Association (WDNHWA)

The Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service recognises the outstanding work carried out by voluntary groups in their local communities. The awards were created in 2002 to celebrate the Queen’s Golden Jubilee and winners are announced each year on 2 June, the anniversary of the Queen’s Coronation.

Representatives from each of the groups will receive their award from Sir Henry Aubrey-Fletcher, Her Majesty’s Lord Lieutenant of Buckinghamshire or Alexander Boswell, Vice Lord Lieutenant, later this summer.

Sir Henry said: “I warmly congratulate all of the inspirational voluntary groups in Buckinghamshire who have been rewarded for their community work with a Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service and we look forward to meeting the volunteers when Alexander Boswell or I present each of the groups with their award.

“The list of winners is very diverse and it is pleasing to see the groups stretch across the whole of the county. When I received the full list of 2019 winners I was delighted. It is the highest number of awards Buckinghamshire has received since they were first introduced in 2002. Buckinghamshire has received the fourth highest total on the list across the whole the UK. Only Greater Manchester, Greater London and the West Midlands have received more awards this year.”

The cycle for award nominations for 2020 has now begun. New nominations can be submitted until 13 September 2019: