Residents urged to use their vote as by-election line-up is announced

Four candidates will be seeking votes from more than 9,000 electors in the Aylesbury North West Division in the forthcoming Buckinghamshire County Council by-election.

Polling takes place on Thursday 29 November following the resignation of sitting Member Martin Farrow, who was returned in the May 2017 elections.

Candidates at the close of nominations on Friday (2 November) are:
Anders Carl Christensen (Liberal Democrat)
Liz Hind (Labour)
Ashley Waite (Conservative)
Mark Wheeler (Green)

The deadline for residents to register to vote is next Tuesday, 13 November, and this can be done online

Applications for postal votes must be with the electoral registration team at Aylesbury Vale District Council – which is overseeing the by-election – by 5pm on Wednesday 14 November, and the deadline for applying for a proxy vote is 5pm Wednesday 21 November.

Returning Officer Gillian Quinton said it was important to make every elector aware of their right to vote, and urged residents to ensure they were registered to vote.

“Everyone uses the County Council’s services in some way every day,” she said. “I’d encourage everyone in the Aylesbury North West Division to exercise their democratic right tochoose the person they want to represent them, and to help make important decisions about millions of pounds of public services provided across Buckinghamshire.”