The Small Awards Digital Star Shortlist Announced

The Small Awards has announced its shortlist for its Digital Star award sponsored by Indeed.

The Digital Star award honours businesses with a strong use and understanding of digital channels to engage customers and growth in audience over time.

The successful finalists this year are:Thumbsie Ltd, Wendover,Love Layla Designs Ltd,Pontefract,Oh So Social, Penryn,Cinebop Ltd, Richmond andAudenza, Leicester.

Now in its second year, the Awards received a record-breaking number of entries from businesses far and wide and has selected a shortlist of five for each category. The winners will be announced on 17thMay at an exclusive black-tie event in London, attended by all finalists, judges and small business ambassadors.

The aim of The Small Awards is to give a platform for small businesses and celebrate achievements and accomplishments within this arena that, for many, is the backbone of the economy and high streets all around the country. The Awards mission is:“For the Smallest and the Greatest.”

The Small Awards were founded by Michelle Ovens MBE of peak b Ltd, who is behind a number of national small business campaigns including Small Business Saturday, Do It Digital and F:Entrepreneur. The Small Awards have been created as a direct response to the growing number of SMEs year-on-year in the UK and a desire to celebrate and reward them.

“Small businesses are the heart and soul of our communities,” says Ovens. “Giving small businesses a platform to showcase their product or service as well as connect with fellow business owners is imperative to helping secure the future success of our local economies and create and maintain a healthy business landscape.”

The Small Awards boast 12 categories including:Digital Star(sponsored by Indeed) celebrating an online-only business;New Kid On The Blockshowcasing a start-up in the past 18months andHigh Street Hero(sponsored by TSB) awarding the business that has gone above and beyond in supporting their high street. Alongside these, there are awards for the best social enterprise, supply chain management, sole trader and multi-channel expertise as well as the big one, theSmall Business of the Yearaward.

The awards have been judged by a number of high-profile names led by Paul Uppal, the UK’s first Small Business Commissioner and include: Michael Hayman MBE, Founder of Seven Hills, Caroline Plumb OBE, founder and CEO of Fluidity, Dom Hallis, executive director of Coadec and Emma Jones MBE, founder of Enterprise Nation.